About Us
Committee members
Regional Society
Rules & Regulations
Biennial Meeting
Official Journal
SFRR Meeting
Associated Meeting

About Us

President Message

Dr. Daniel Tsun-Yee Chiu
Dr. Yuji Naito, MD, PhD.
Associate Professor
Molecular Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Kyoto Prefectural University of Medicine
Kyoto, Japan

Dear Members of Society for Free Radical Research Asia (SFRR Asia),

It is great pleasure and honor for me to become the President of Society for Free Radical Research Asia.
My duty as the President of SFRR Asia started from January 2020 after organizing 9th SFRR Asia biennial meeting in Kyoto, Japan.
First of all, I would like to thank former President Prof. Yang Liu (Institute of Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China) for his leadership between 2018 and 2019, as well as to other all the members of the our executive members.

SFRR Asia currently consists of China, India, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Taiwan, and Thailand. As these seven regions has their own SFRR society, I believe that it allow to increase and consolidate the membership of the Society and activities and also extend the strength of these field in Asia– hopefully make it attractive to a new generation of members.

The most characteristic merit of this society is the variety of researchers we hold, starting from chemists, biochemists, molecular biologists to physicians.
During my period of Presidency, I would like to attract more researchers from other societies in Asia. I believe that it is important to increasing the number, and rate of retention, of members of the Society who are younger scientists.

Next Biennial Meeting of SFRR International will be held in Taiwan in March 2020, organizing by SFRR Taiwan. As it’s term of SFRR Asia organization, I would like to ask all of you for your support of this meeting.
Since the meeting will expect variety of scientists from all over the world, it will be great opportunity to study on free radicals and antioxidants and any related fields. We look forward to integrating all the remarkable and  meaningful knowledge that the SFRR regional members has been developed throughout the history of the society.

I wish you all the best and good health for 2020!

Yuji Naito, M.D., Ph.D.
Kyoto Prefectural University of Medicine, Japan

Society for Free Radical Research

The Society promotes interest in all aspects of research into the reactions
and properties of free radicals and into their physical, chemical,
biological, medical and industrial roles.

SFRR International

Founded in 1982, and now with over 2800 members worldwide, the Society
consists of six autonomous regional groups: SFRR Asia, SFRR Europe, SFRR
Australasia, the Oxygen Society (Pan America), SFRR Africa, and SFRR ASEAN.

SFRR Asia Biennial Meetings
 1st 2003 November 6-8  Seoul, Korea
President: Myung-Hee Chung (Korea)

2nd 2005 June 24-29  Shanghai, China
President: Baolu Zhao (China)

3rd 2007 January 8-11   Lonavala, India
President: T.P.A. Devasagayam (India)

4th 2009 July 9-12   Langkawi, Malaysia
President: Kala Nesaretnam (Malaysia)

5th 2011 August 31 - September 4 Kagoshima, Japan
President: Hideyuki Majima (Japan)

6th 2013 October 16 - 19, Tao-Yuan, Taiwan
President: Daniel Tsun-Yee Chiu (Taiwan)

7th 2015 November 29-December 2, Chiang Mai, Thailand
President:Maitree Suttajit (Thailand)

8th 2017 September 8-11, Xi'an, China
President: Jiankang LIU (China)

9th 2019 April 4-7, Kyoto, Japan
President: Yuji Naito (Japan)